Some people point that experiential learning (i.e. learning by doing it) can work well in formal education. However, others think a traditional form of teaching is the best. Do you think experiential learning CAN WORK WELL in high schools or colleges?

The idea that there are two ways of teaching forms in schools, which lies among arguable debates, has again sparked controversy. Some proponents maintain that experiential learning can work well in formal education, while opponents claim that the traditional form of teaching is the best. This essay will elaborate on both sides of the debate, and thus lead to a final conclusion. To begin with, there are numerous reasons why experiential learning can work well in formal education. However, the most evident one derives from the fact that the hands-on experience provides a better understanding of the theory. An instance illustrating this idea is that a student who does experimenting with electronic circuits understands the realistic values and its theoretical aspect. Furthermore, experimenting gives the opportunity to identify one's destiny, because it gives a clear understanding of the likes and dislikes of a student. Moving on to consider the opposing arguments put forward by critics, some people believe that a traditional form of teaching is the best. It is largely attributed to the fact that students can get enormous knowledge from textbooks before they can interact with real situations in their future careers. For instance, a survey at the University of Sydney proved that with 4 hours in a traditional class, students can get 90% knowledge from textbooks. Another significant factor is that it is more stressful for teachers to prepare an experiential lesson rather than a traditional lesson. In conclusion, while there are strong arguments on both sides of the debate, a final conclusion must be drawn, and I strongly believe that experiential learning can bring many benefits to students.