Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are two views about whether adjusting a fixed and certain punishment for each crime or investigate and punish the criminals individually. This essay will discuss both views and in my personal opinion each offender should be considered as an individual and then have then punished. Many people believed that it is beneficial to have a list of certain and clear penalties for crimes. The first advantage is that judges and lawyers can easily do their jobs and they just need to follow some rules in order to sentence an offender by type of the criminal act. The second benefit is that people will be aware of the consequences of each crime. This means that it deter people from having criminal acts as they know the punishment that they need to tolerate. However, others are of the opinion that each crime should address individually since many factors can cause an offence and they are not always the same. To clarify, a person who is a shop lifter may do that because of just pleasure in contrast to one who does the same offence to pay living expenses. So, intention of them is different and they should not be punished in the same way. Or is a first time burglar similar to a repeated one? As a result, each criminal act should be addressed individually. In my opinion, the most important duty of judges is distinguishing intentions of criminals and chooses an appropriate penalty. In this way by appropriate judgments offenders will be punished in a right and fair manner. In summary, while many people argue that it would be better if any criminal acts have its own fixed punishments, opponents believe that it is fair to each offender tolerates the penalty by having considered their situation as well as the cause of offending the crime. I accept the latter view as well.