Some people believe that modern technology encourages more sociable behaviour. Others say that this leads to lesser sociable behaviour. Discuss both views with examples and provide your opinion.

While some people argue that our high-tech technology and online social platforms have allowed us to be more connected to the rest of the world, others argue that our smart devices have actually left us feeling more disconnected and alone than ever before. In my opinion, the truth lies somewhere in the middle, with the onus being on users/ people to utilize these modern resources in a healthy and productive manner.  On the one side of the argument, there are those who are of the opinion that our innovative technology is a tool that can be used to bring us closer despite the vast distances that separate us. The most compelling reason for believing this is that in the past it would have been nearly impossible/ highly difficult to strike up friendships with people from different countries and cultures. However, in contemporary society, this feat can be accomplished with the mere click of a button. This trend has directly led to communities that are more tolerant of people from different backgrounds and has helped many people find common ground with those from extremely different backgrounds.  Despite the above-mentioned advantages, there are those who are adamant that technology has only created the illusion of being socially connected and most people are in fact deprived of genuine social interactions. Indeed, one of the main reasons that I hold this position is that it is clear that devices like smartphones and iPads intrude more and more on our close relationships, and more often than not family members and friends are less attentive to each other despite being in close physical proximity. This is almost always because they are deeply engrossed in whatever they are viewing on their phones. In other words, we have become a technology -reliant and smartphone-obsessed society that has less and less face-to-face communication than in any other era of human history.  In conclusion, while both views are held in society, I believe that our inability to form and maintain true/close relationships should be blamed less on modern technology and more on how we as people choose to make use of these resources. Given this situation, it is suggested that communities should be more educated about the consequences of being overly dependent on smart devices and online platforms.