Advanced technology has brought many beneficial changes to the world. However, some old people today struggle with the use of technologies such as mobile phone and the internet. How can the elderly benefit from using advanced technology? How can the elderly be encouraged to use consumer electronics more.

Despite the many advantages the utilisation of mobile technology and the internet have brought, many elderly individuals still find it cumbersome to use. This essay will discuss the ways by which older people can derive benefits from using technology and the methods that can be put in place to encourage the utilisation of this modern technology. To begin with, there are a number of ways using these modern technology can be beneficial to the elderly. Firstly, it helps them to access information early and in a timely manner. In other words, technology makes people get information earlier because the message is just transmitted through the internet without anyone travelling to get it across. Secondly, it exposes these older people to easier ways of doing things. This means technology brings easier options for them to use. For instance, using the google map instead of the traditional paper-map that has many pages to search. There are many ways in which one can encourage old people to use technology. One way is to reduce the cost of these technologies when compared to the traditional non- technology compliant options. When people find the use of technology cheaper, they will find it more attractive. Furthermore, promoting mass education on the use of technology among the older people will attract them to it. For example, most older people are discouraged from using technology because they do not know how to use it. In conclusion, older people can benefit from using the internet because it provides easy and cheaper options. Reduction of the cost of technology and mass education are ways to encourage them to use it.