The best way to reduce poverty in developing countries is by providing at least six years of free education for each child, so that all children can read, write and use numbers.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the best form to decrease poverty in poor countries is by education. To be more specific, the government should offer at least six years of free education for everybody. As a result, children would be able to read, write, and do calculations. I partially agree because I think that only six years are not enough to change lives. There are several measures that need to be taken to put an end to poverty. There is no doubt that education is a powerful tool that helps people to achieve a better life, and escape from poverty. For example, many researches have shown that people with higher education receive better salaries. On the other hand, people who do not know writing, reading or dealing with numbers have difficulty finding jobs or will just find survival jobs. However, only basic skills acquired at primary school are not enough to move people into higher social classes. It is necessary to further education, such as graduation and postgraduation. Nowadays, the competition among employees is very hard and any detail makes a difference in getting a good job. For this reason, providing only six years of education free of charge is too few. I believe that all education, from pre-school to tertiary education should be free for everyone. Moreover, it is necessary to offer the first job opportunity to youngers or lend some money to them to start their own business. These are the only ways to make competition for jobs and success in the capitalist system fairer because those who are already wealthy begin the run to success some miles ahead. All in all, I think that education can transform lives for real, but it takes time, money, and dedication. Poor people sometimes have to choose between working or studying. So, the only manner to encourage kids in lower social classes to maintain their studies is with help from governments, not just for six years but for all education periods. As a consequence, poverty can be reduced in developing nations.