Some people believe that modern technology is increasing the gap between rich and poor, while others disagree and say that it is helping reduce the gap. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While certain people believe that technological advancement is expanding the gap between the rich and the poor, others disagree and think the opposite. This essay will discuss both views and state my opinion. On one hand, the advancement of technology can contribute to inequality between the rich and the poor. Some technological gadgets require high expenses. Therefore, low-income people will hardly have access to those with high costs, leading to limited access to the rich. In addition, technological advancement leads to job losses. With the extreme reliance on high- technology instruments, such as automated machines, laborers will be replaced more or less by these machines. On the other hand, modern technology helps reduce the gap between high and low income people in multiple aspects. Firstly, the internet offers full access to information and free education. Many institutions offer online courses at affordable prices, which can provide access for the poor to education, workshops and certain skills that will be beneficial for their career. Moreover, it provides an opportunity for people with lower resources to start a business with a low initial cost due to the fact that the operation can be managed online. In my opinion, I firmly agree with the latter statement and believe that modern technology can cause numerous life and career benefits to people. With the right policies and initiatives implemented by the authorities to ensure equal access to technology, its potential to bridge the gap can be fully realized. In conclusion, although technological advancement has led to job losses and inequality within society, it helps reduce the gap between the rich and the poor by providing beneficial opportunities, including access to education and business opportunities.