Many people believe that funding space exploration is important. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays a lot of multinational corporates, such as Tesla and Amazon, are spending billions of dollars on interstellar exploration. While some people believe that it is necessary since the resources on the earth are renewable, others argue that they should channel these funds to other paramount issues prevailing worldwide. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument, while I support the latter opinion. To begin with, some folks, who argue that interstellar missions are critical, might say this because the earth will cease to provide all the resources and offerings, which are crucial in sustaining lives on the blue planet, in many years to come. The reason for this is that offerings of the earth are replenishable and therefore we would run out of them in the coming million years. To illustrate this point, the atmospheric layer will exterminate, all thanks to human activities, in the next million years and this would result in the annihilation of all the lives on the planet until and unless we divert our resources and thoughts to this appalling problem. On the other hand, I would argue that space missions are not crucial in today's time. It is because of the fact that we, as a planet, have a lot of perplexing hurdles, such as global warming, poverty, and energy dependency to name a few, to tackle before we begin with a conquest of space travel. In contrast, if we redirect our attention to some of these aforementioned looming challenges, searching for new planets which can sustain human lives would no longer be essential. In conclusion, while interstellar exploration can help us to explore different planets which are akin to the earth, diverting zillions of dollars to combat current challenges and issues is more crucial than funding space missions at least for now.