Putting criminals into prisons is not an effective way to deal with them. Instead, education and job training should be offered. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that jails are not the only solution for offenders to get away from criminal activities. They think they should be offered for education and livelihood exercise by the authorities. Although it is necessary to give punishment; however, I completely agree with their statement. To begin with, education is a process by which it is possible to change the moral behaviour of the people. If any person does not have good morality, he/she will surely engage in activities, which is regarded as a crime in society. For example, research was conducted in 2022 at different charlands of Bangladesh by Dhaka University, where 67 percent of people did not know how to read or write. They found that there was a positive strong correlation (R-value = 0.87) between illiteracy and unethical work. Moreover, they saw 82 per cent of people who were in jail for criminal activities engaged themselves again in a crime. So, we can say that it is necessary to enlighten their mind through proper education. On the other hand, it is obviously a good idea to create work fields via training to generate income for the offenders. It will not only help them to make money but also help them to move their thinking from criminal activities to work. For instance, according to International Court of Justice (ICA) research, published in a renowned Q1 journal, if they are given to do work, 98 per cent of offenders do not have any time to think about crime. As a result, it is very much necessary to develop their skills and engage themselves in work; thus, it will not only enable them to leave crime but also to be a wealthy person. To conclude, prison punishment is necessary for the offenders; nevertheless, proper education and perfect training are also required to eradicate unethical activities from modern society. It will help them to boost the criminal's economy as well as their mental mind.