The cultures of many countries around the world become more similar than they used to be. What are the reasons for this trend? Is it positive or negative?

Traditions and customs are in a state of flux nowadays. One result of these upheavals is that cultural similarity, which did not exist in the past, now becomes evident across the globe. Advanced travelling options and the internet revolution are the two primary reasons for this manoeuvre, which I will discuss in the following essay and explain why this is a negative development. Admittedly, many factors are responsible for making a resemblance in the culture of many countries, but the primary one is the easy and fast modes of travel Indeed, due to the advancement in travelling, many people commute to other countries and get to know the different cultures around the world, whereas in the past travel was limited. As a result, more countries and their cultures have become more connected than before. Furthermore, understanding different cultures have never been easier than today with the use of the internet. People try to learn about other cultures through websites and tend to generate interest in them. In a split- second, information can be drawn from websites such as Google or Wikipedia. Ultimately it helps in promoting cultural homogeneity. I do, however, believe that similarity in culture will adversely affect the tourism and economy of many nations. Each culture is unique with its own way of life and own perspectives of the world, which attracts many tourists to travel. But if all the countries have similar cultures, people will not visit them because there would be no reason to travel for pleasure and interest, which will affect the economy of nations. For instance, the economy of countries like Indonesia, and Malaysia would have been devasted if tourism, which is the primary income source in them, had collapsed or stopped. In conclusion, cultural similarities are a result of the booming travel industry and greater access to the internet. This should be seen as a negative development because it has detrimental impacts on tourism and the economic condition of countries.