Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A problem to modern societies is the declining level of public health in the general public, with conflicting views on how to handle this worrying trend. On the one hand, supporters of building more sports facilities often state that it could provide people, especially those who could not afford private training courses and gym membership, with more opportunities to access various sports resources. As a result, enough physical exercises will help them strengthen their bodies and shake off negative thoughts, which will benefit overall public health. Furthermore, with more sports facilities built, they will influence residents’ attitudes towards sports subconsciously. The stadiums, tennis courts and basketball fields will become symbols to remind those passing by to work out when they have time. Therefore, a healthy physical exercise atmosphere emerged. By contrast, those who support the idea of other measures are key factors point to the fact that fierce competitions and busy working schedules leave no time for adults or even children to train their bodies. The government and companies should slow down their pacing and give people more family time and personal time to improve their health status. They also claim that mental health is an important part of public health as well, which could not be fixed by any amounts of sports facilities. Only human touch can relieve related symptoms. Such as community group sessions and more social workers' involvement. To conclude, focusing on sports facilities is a narrow approach and more methods need to be taken to achieve a desired result.