POPULATION: The number of people who decide not to have children has increased greatly Do you think this is a positive or negative development

More and more modern couples have decided not to have children. Some people think that it can cause an adverse impact on our society, but I advocate that having fewer children these days should be seen as a positive growth in our community. On the one hand, the declining fertility rate has brought a negative effect in the workforce. The lower number of children eventually causes the labour shortage because the job market needs young people to continually take over the position that the older generation left. The fewer children are born, the fewer available working staff will work in the future. For instance, many European countries where lots of couples decided not to have children, have suffered from the deficiency of qualified clerks and have to rent workers from other developing countries to foster the economy. On the other hand, with the lower fertility rate, children may be received a better education from their parents and schools. On an individual level, families with only one child can provide good living and studying conditions for kids. Some recent surveys have shown that children from one-kid families have more chances to study in prestigious and expensive universities than those coming from large families. Additionally, on the social level, with fewer children, better childcare can be provided with the same resources, which offers a comprehensive education for kids. Take a school with 100 students as an example, they can provide students with state-of-the-art facilities and spacious studying space from the same budget as those having more than 1000 students. In conclusion, having fewer kids can cause a detrimental impact on the workforce, but it is more obvious that reducing the fertility rate brings more advantages for individuals and society.