Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that the considerable amount of money invested in space exploration would be better off if spent on benefiting the nation. While I concur that there are numerous pressing national issues to address, space exploration should be continued because of the potential new materials and accommodational benefits provided by it. On the one hand, while many developed countries have afforded space travel to learn about outer space, many people in developing countries, such as Asian or African countries, are still faced with poverty, starvation, malnutrition, lack of fresh water and shelter and other concerning issues. These problems are more immediate and need more funding than space exploration since it directly addresses the needs of humans. In addition to that, space travel does not guarantee any positive outcomes but requires enormous expenses, given that space centres need to train astronauts to go into space and construct spaceships. Had space investment been allocated to more serious and immediate problems, many people would not have died or struggled to survive as they do now. That said, the expenditure on space exploration should not be depleted completely. There is a possibility of discovering materials that could be useful for developing new technology or pharmaceuticals to enhance people ’s lives. For instance, American scientists have been working on a new type of stone collected from the moon to create new medical machines. Furthermore, in the situation where Earth is increasingly deteriorating, space exploration facilitates the findings of planets to accommodate people. To illustrate, a planet consisting of similar components to Earth has been found recently and is intended as the next shelter for humans when the Earth corrupts. In conclusion, whilst more money should be used for bettering the country and rectifying the existing problems, investment in space exploration is essential for material discoveries and future accommodational chances.