Because of the rising cost of housing, many young people are increasingly being forced to live with their parents into their 30s. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

All around the world, the accommodation has become less affordable. Due to this price surge, many young people now have to remain in the family home well past 30. While this can sometimes be beneficial, this essay will discuss why it is ultimately a negative trend. This development can offer a number of advantages, both to children and to their parents. The main one is financial. Buying a property, or even renting one, is becoming prohibitively expensive. As a result, a new homeowner is often faced with unmanageable mortgage payments. By living at home longer, young people avoid paying rent and thus save money, allowing them to build a place of their own without crippling debt. From the parents ' perspective, there are also benefits. They may enjoy having their child around for company or extra help with household chores. For some families, this extra time together can strengthen the bonds between generations.  The downsides, however, outweigh the benefits. It can have negative financial implications for parents, particularly those who have retired or are planning to retire. Rather than providing for just one or two people, parents with adult children at home often have to support them as well, resulting in increased costs for utilities such as water and electricity. Even if the child contributes towards the upkeep of the house, this is unlikely to compensate fully for the expenses. Another issue is that in societies like Australia that value independence highly, parents may also feel a sense of failure. The longer scion must stay with their parents, the slower they will grow up.  In conclusion, as the cost-of-living soars, children may continue to live at home longer. Even though this may enable them to save money, the situation tends to have more problems than benefits, especially for the parents