There are both problems and benefits for high school students study plays and works of theatres written centuries ago. Discuss and use your own experience.

The idea that introducing school plays and theatre works on ancient topics is controversial and has drawn attention from the public. Some proponents maintain that old plays and works give knowledge of our ancestry, while opponents claim that they are a misfit in our society. This essay will discuss both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion. To begin with, there are various reasons to organize study plays and theatres in high schools. However, the most evident one derives from the fact that these plays and works of art instil the audience with our traditional values, customs and ancient history that is almost forgotten today. Furthermore, presenting such works to the students relives reminiscences of ancient ideologies. For example, the school play on the Romantic Movement by Alexander Pope tells students about the occurrence of Roman civilisation. Hence, these plays and theatres present the state of the art in the modern world. Moving on to consider the opposing arguments put forward by critics, some people believe that there are some serious implications attached to introducing such plays and theatres. It is largely attributed to the fact that the students are no longer interested in studying such historic plays and theatres and that is why they have become less popular. For instance, a survey at The University of Sydney proved that there is 80% of students feel bored and get a low mark on the exam when they study historic plays. In addition, presenting history on such platform does not serve the purpose in today’s world. In conclusion, while there are strong arguments on both sides of the debate, a final conclusion must be drawn, and I strongly believe that the merits associated with involving high school students in study plays and theatre works outweigh its downsides.