These days people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society which means people use things for a short time and then throw them away. What are the causes and problems of this?

It is now common to see people purchase things, like cell phones, clothes and other materialistic goods and only use them for a short period. A few significant factors that contribute to this throwaway culture is consumerism and this leads to a range of dire consequences, such as air and land pollution. One main reason for the modern throwaway culture is that society is greatly affected by consumerism that encourages the mass production of short-lived goods and the consumption of those goods. The market is also flooded with cheap, single-use products, making it easier to buy things in large quantities and dispose of them even before they become unusable. Another point to consider here is that the purpose for which we buy and use consumer products has changed over the past decades. For example, we no longer wait until our clothes wear out to make new purchases; instead, our decisions to buy new clothes are heavily influenced by a number of other incentives, be it better appearances or new fashion patterns. This practice inflicts severe damage on the environment. Products constantly ending up in trash bins cause landfills to become overloaded with massive piles of garbage, only a small proportion of which is disposed of properly to avoid harm to the environment. The rest of the garbage, usually non-recyclable and plastic items, are either buried underground or burnt. This can increase air and land pollution levels, and directly harm the lives of people. Furthermore, natural resources that fuel the manufacturing of consumer products can be depleted due to the market’s nonstop demand for these commodities. In conclusion, a throwaway culture which wreaks devastation on our environment and depletes our natural resources is formed largely by modern consumerism.