Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicine and treatment instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a Positive or a negative development?

In the modern era, the number of individuals who suffer from illnesses increasingly do self-diagnose and take medicines and treatments by themselves instead of going to hospitals. In my opinion, this trend is considered a negative development and adversely leads to many more problems. The essay will examine why people should not implement this at home. First of all, people who diagnose symptoms themselves by searching information on the internet can be misdiagnosis due to unreliable information and fake news. As nowadays it is easier to ask for any data from Google compared to visiting the doctor, they figure diseases out on their own which may lead to incorrect diagnosis and get wrong treatment, which can eventually make symptoms more severe or lead to death. For example, If a person suffers from chronic headaches for a long time, when they search on Google, they will get a lot of data ranging from migraine to brain cancer and they can buy the wrong medicine that is not working or even make them sick. Therefore, to get the exact diagnosis, people should be checked by a specialist. Moreover, unreliable information can contribute to overthinking, depression, and anxiety. Because when individuals receive incorrect data like cancer or virus, their mental health will become worse. For instance, when you get stomachaches and search on the internet, some resources may diagnose you to be stomach cancer, which can escalate your mind and mental health. Hence, people should not rely on the internet. In conclusion, according to the aforementioned reasons, I believe that the trend of self-diagnose by search engines can provide negative implications for many individuals, and people should regularly check with doctors rather than ask Google.