Some people say that advertising is extremily successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is some discussion regarding the effectiveness of advertisements. On one hand, some believe advertisements can easily persuade us into buying objects. On the other hand, there are others who say that ads no longer captivate people’s attention. Although I believe the advertisement industry is stronger than ever, some methods of delivering these messages are not so effective anymore, leading to the false belief of ineffectiveness. In this era, individuals of different ages have access to different types of devices like smartphones, tablets and television which allow easy connection to various media apps. Companies and brands use media influencers to advertise their products without the need for a formal announcement. Consequently, even without our knowledge, the exposure to ads and propaganda is constant, generating needs and desires that are not realistic or part of our everyday lives. Contrary to this new trend, there are ordinary types of advertisements like brochures, flyers, and even television ads. People are less likely to engage with these for different reasons. Thinking about the environment and how to be more eco-friendly, many young people decline brochures and flyers in their personal and business lives. Television is currently used to watch apps like Netflix which removed regular advertising from their transmission. Furthermore, most televisions have recording options which allow individuals to fast-forward during advertisement time. In summary, there is some diversion about the power of advertising over people these days. Older ways of advertising like brochures and flyers have been replaced by new marketing strategies, which may lead some to believe in its ineffectiveness. However, advertising is stronger than ever although many times in a more subtle way.