Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is undeniable that mobile phones are playing a vital role in the majority of people’s lives. These days, kids use their smartphones for many hours daily. From my point of view, smartphones offer both positive and negative effects on children. This topic is still debatable nowadays between parents. While some parents believe that using smartphones is a waste of time for children and try to restrict them, others argue that it can also bring many benefits to children if the length of time spent is suitable for them. On the one hand, if a child spends a long time playing with his or her phone, it leads to many bad impacts on their physical health. For example, it may cause short-sightedness and physical pain. Moreover, without parents’ guidance, there is a high possibility that children will experience cyberbullying on social networking, discover fake news from unreliable sources and follow the dangerous acts they have seen. Unfortunately, there are numerous cases presented in the news that kids suicided or died from those situations. On the other hand, smartphones are also beneficial for children and their development. Mobile phones allow kids to discover and learn many new things and knowledge. For instance, children can go surfing on the internet and find answers to their questions when they are curious about something or get stuck with their homework. Phones also give opportunities for them to watch documentaries or educational channels which is essential for their growth. In addition, children use their mobile phones to keep in touch with their family or parents when they are at school. In summary, smartphones offer several advantages to children, but they can cause drawbacks if they spend hours on them every day. Therefore, it is recommended that this should be in moderation and under parents’ guidance to minimize the negative outcomes.