Proper function of prison is to punish criminals and life in prison should be hard. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been a contentious topic about whether the main function of prison is to punish prisoners and the life of inmates should be difficult. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement due to the fact that this promote violence between inmates and prison guards; therefore, re-education should be placed on top. A lot a people hold a firm belief that punishment is the best way to teach law-breakers a lesson. However, this is not the case. A lot of prisoners after being punished tend to hold grudges against their supervisors rather than learn a lesson., Consequently they will plan a scheme to pay back the guards for punishing them. A prime example of this matter is the fact that a lot of prisons in the US that choose violence as their main means of education suffer from riots and breaks out. Therefore, a better way to educate these criminals is to create a safe space for prisoners to rehabilitate. This can be done by creating ethics classes teaching criminals about what is right and what is wrong. This can be pivotal in helping wrong-doers to avoid committing crimes and; consequently, reducing the crime rate. This is because prisoners now have learned their lessons and will not follow the same path that they have crossed before, which is breaking the law. Many countries in the world including England and France have tried this method and had achieved positive results. In conclusion, the main function of prison should be to rehabilitate prisoners. Therefore, prison-owners should provide an adequate environment for prisoners to be re-educated and later on become good citizens after they got free.