The government should give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on, even if they are unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the high unemployment rate, many people believe that government should pay all citizens basic salaries irrespective of whether they are jobless or not to live on. In my,opinion only the unemployed should be paid so they can lead a good life and the employed should not be paid the same. To begin with, there are two reasons why the unemployed should be paid basic income. Firstly, providing a basic income to unemployed individuals will reduce the crime rate. As unemployed individuals can commit any offence to get money to feed their tummies. For instance, in,Africa there is a high crime rate due to the unavailability of basic needs people. Secondly, by paying a fixed amount of salary to unemployed citizens, they can lead a good quality of life. It can improve their life standard. They also provide healthy food and education to their children. On the other hand, if government provide a basic income to all citizens, then the individual who is employed will get lazy. His motivation to get involved in any productive work will diminish. Moreover, there will be a huge financial burden on the government, which will lead to debt. The economy of the government will deteriorate. By providing a basic income to unemployed individuals, the government should indulge them in any social work so they do not depend on effortless income. In conclusion, the government should focus on the betterment of unemployed individuals by providing them with a fixed salary which will reduce the unemployment rate and improve their life.