Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to only be meant for adults. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes, and what solutions can be offered?

Obesity, a serious condition once only related to adults, is increasingly affecting children in the present day. One of the main causes is the increase in sedentary lifestyles and highly processed feed among children, resulting in the necessity of policies to stimulate exercise and food education to resolve this problem. The increase of highly processed and sugar-rich food in modern times, such as junk foods, which are cheaper and easier to eat, is one of the primary causes of overweight in young people worldwide. In addition, the lack of exercise nowadays due to the preference to play video games and mobile devices rather than playing outside with their friend is another factor. Besides, most parents do not stimulate their children to play sports because they are busy enough to encourage them. For example, in Brazil, the number of children who play in after-school team sports has dropped significantly over the last decade. One of the best solutions to this problem is the education of children about the dangers of being severely overweight in the future. Because, if children understand the types of diseases associated with obesity, they will be more aware of what they are eating. Moreover, they will realize the real need for physical activity for their health, which, together with the introduction of more exercises in the curriculum of schools, would encourage them to participate in more sports, allow them to burn calories, and avoid weight gain. Take schools where children are required to participate in at least one team sport as an example, these places have lower obesity rates. In conclusion, many children are being affected with overweight by the consequence of eating unhealthy food combined with sedentarism. However, with education policies to give enough information about the risks of obesity in the future and the stimulation of exercise at school, the problem can be diminished.