In many countries, people are living in a "throwaway society" where things are used for a short time and thrown away. what are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

Nowadays many goods purchased worldwide have a short lifecycle and to some extent are treated as disposable by a consumer. This doesn't apply to fast-moving consumer goods alone, but to more sophisticated products such as clothing and high-tech goods. We can name advancements in technology, management approach, globalization and many other factors which paved the way for the current state of affairs. Apparently, many products have become affordable due to lower costs of production meanwhile causing a lot of problems in ecology and society's attitude towards consumerism. The evolution of production management and accounting techniques has had a great impact on the costs of goods manufactured across many industries, where remarkable brands such as Ford, McDonald's, Walmart, and Toyota have been in avant-garde revolutionizing manufacturing by introducing assembly line, Kanban, standardization, lean manufacturing and other ground-breaking approaches. This has allowed to significantly decrease manufacturing and overhead costs. Along with the technology changing rapidly, we have a formula for functionally short-lived mass-produced goods. As advancements in technology have increased quality of life, they have had a negative impact on the environment, society's mindset and other intangible aspects of everyday life. We can witness landfill growing each day, tonnes of garbage forming islands drifting in the Pacific ocean, rainforests being chopped down which leads to the extermination of rare species, ozone layer being slightly and continuously destroyed. Along with apparent ecological issues, the everchanging range of products supplied and pushed to an ordinary end customer doesn't do any good to the overall mental health of the modern public. Despite the abovementioned, mentioned problems of a consumerist community can be addressed by an ordinary consumer individually. This can contribute to the resolution of the issues on a global scale.