Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicine and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think is a positive or a negative development?

There is an increasing number of people who choose to treat themselves with alternative medicine and treatments rather than coming to the hospital. In my opinion, this is a negative development since this movement not only can be the culprit of many new dangerous diseases but is also harmful to a person's health in the long run. First and foremost, it can be clearly seen that, with the burgeoning of medicine, many hazardous diseases in the past can now be easily treated with the help of antibiotics. However, many viruses and bacterias are also developing as well; consequently, overconsumption of antibiotics can help these dangerous micro-specimens to evolve faster and soon, they will have the ability to defend themselves against human's medicine. A prime example of this matter is the Covid-19 virus. This super virus derived from a normal flu virus, and has created one of the biggest pandemics of all time. Second of all, people may not have a full understanding of the diseases that they are suffered. Therefore, many of those who choose to treat themselves might follow the wrong path by choosing an inadequate treatment that later on could worsen the situation of their health. Also, a lot of symptoms might be underestimated by people but can only be cured under the speculation of doctors. For instance, people who got cancer only found out about it in the final stage of the disease where it is impossible to be cured. In conclusion, switching from visiting doctors to self-treatment can be the main reason behind the appearance of new dangerous diseases. Also, this development can be detrimental to a person's health.