Today, there are more men's than women's sports on TV. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women's and men's sports?

In this modern world, the forms of entertainment, especially sport, have been on the rise in many parts of the world. This sparks a debate about the amount of time men’s sports on air is higher than that of the other gender. This essay will list out some potential reasons and suggest no difference made with the amount of time. Granted, male sports are more popular and dominant than others. A compelling reason is that playing sports requires much strength, which is correlated with the personality and physical state of men. Furthermore, the stereotype between the two genders, which is heavy activities are designed for men while light ones are for women, also goes with this reason. Soccer, for instance, is considered as king sport and has the biggest quantity of fans in the world, captivating the attention of all sport -lovers and leading to the assumptions of the significant position of males in this type of entertainment. Given that there is a disparity in the showing time between each gender, I believe that TV channels should not adjust to make equality. Making way for more time for female sports means that there will be a cut in male ones. This could raise protests among those whose favorite sports are eliminated. Additionally, there will be less promotion or reward for those who are not on air, causing a missing talent recognition and preservation. Sport should be based on fair spirit and the least favored one should be in the displacement with the nature of time. In conclusion, the primary reason why there is a gap in the sport showing time could be the stereotype of the male physical health compatible with the sport. However, no adjustment should be made in terms of dividing the on-air time.