In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is not uncommon that some youngsters take a long time off for working or experiencing travel before entering a tertiary level course as they believe the experience is beneficial to them in many ways. However, there are also drawbacks associated with this very rising trend, of which I would like to examine both 2 sides. On the one hand, taking a gap year before starting your third -level course helps gain more practical experience or trigger your potential talents. To exemplify, after graduating from high school, a student ceases academic activities to work in a fashion shop as a saleslady. Clearly, through daily communication with the customer, she figures out that she devotes tremendous passion to fashion design and easy to grasp the fashion trend as she is in frequent contact with a substantial amount of clothes. In addition, she accumulates a year of the profession in this relevant industry which is deemed to be invaluable to her latter fashion -related career pathway. Furthermore, she is likely to be considered for a higher position compared to her peers due to her hands-on fashion involvement. However, there are some drawbacks with regard to the gap years. For instance, people are late in entering college compared to their fellows. Or they may decide to prolong their work in pursuit of being considered for a higher position until a point when they realize the gap year period becomes too extended to get them back to study. This may lead to a high possibility that they do not attain any college. As a result, they may be short of favourable qualifications which can be obtained from university and which are required by some companies for a manager-level position. In conclusion, I believe there are advantages and downturns associated with gap years. On the one side, it not only helps gain significant practical knowledge but also reinforces one's choice of the major he or she may take when entering the university. However, this decision may result in a lack of necessary higher educational factors which is to be considered for a high-level management position by many recruiters.