Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that the most important concern of the world today is the extinction of special types of flora and fauna. Others say that there are more important environmental issues. There are rational arguments on both sides of this topic which will be discussed in detail. However, I agree with the former. On the one hand, some people assert that the conservation of endangered species is the most important environmental issue. To begin with, the extinction of flora and fauna can alter the ecosystem and may have irreversible damage to the world. A good illustration of this is the food chain. Every certain animal is a key part of a food chain and there is a relationship between them. That is to say, every living thing eats food and is consumed by others. So, the eradication of one specie has crucial effects on others. This in turn will lead to a permanent change in the world. On the other hand, some people argue that there are more important environmental concerns. The main reason justifying their belief is that the time and money spent on the maintenance of rare plants and animals can be put to better use. In other words, conservationists can allocate this time and effort to more important issues instead of the preservation of rare species. More specifically, they can solve the problems which threaten human life. A good example of this is air pollution which causes serious diseases like cancer. This in turn will lead to the death of humans. To conclude, there are valid arguments on both sides of this topic. However, this is my firm conviction that the most important issue facing the world today is the conservation of endangered flora and fauna.