Nowadays, some buildings such as offices and schools have open-space design instead of separate rooms. Why is it so? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

I believe that a building with an open space design structure has a more negative impact on the institution. Some people prefer open-plan office layouts to separate chambers probably because of the relatively low cost and easy maintenance. However, these few advantages do not guarantee that the building will serve its purpose efficiently. I will explain in three brief reasons why I think an open-area plan is a bad choice for the structure of a building. Firstly, open-space designs breed a rowdy environment as different activities are being carried out simultaneously in the same area. These can cause disorderliness, especially in establishments where daily operations require a lot of talking and movement. Various sounds from various people all at the same time are more likely to result in noise. Secondly, buildings with well-demarcated areas and separate offices are more aesthetically pleasing to a customer than otherwise. This gives a better first impression to a visitor rather than an arrangement which is unpleasant due to disorderliness. Thirdly, open-space designs can cause a customer to be confused when walking in for the first time. Since all operations are in one area, a customer is merely unable to distinguish between the sundry setups. For example, in a building with separate chambers, the various services offered by the establishment are boldly indicated on the doors of the different rooms. An open arena building layout, on the other hand, is unable to provide this kind of clarification for customers. Consequently, visitors find it hard to navigate through the building in search of a suitable worker to attend to them. In conclusion, I believe beyond any doubt that open space design is disadvantageous to any establishment or institution.