Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes Manu health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, many manufactured foods and drinks contain a large amount of sugar, which causes a lot of health issues to the public. Some people believe that sugary products should be made more costly to encourage people to limit their sugar intake. I completely agree with this statement because it helps people to minimize their sugar intake, and they will find options, which are alternatives to sugary food. If the cost of sugary food and drink increases, people will decrease the consumption of sugary items because people will be unable to afford them. People will not invest that extra money from their budget, and they will reduce their consumption of sugary food and drink. For example, in Australia, in 2023, the government imposed extra VAT on sugary items in the market, which increased the purchase cost of sugar for consumers, and the consumption of sugar decreased to around 45% in that year compared to the past 5 years. Moreover, increasing the cost of sugary food and drink encourages people to find options, which are alternatives to sugary food. People will find other food and drink options, which are relatively healthy and contain less sugar or no sugar, and people eventually develop the habit of consuming them. It will allow them to develop a habit of eating healthy. For example, after increasing the cost of sugary food in Japan, people are inclined to buy more food options, which are healthy and reasonably low- cost. In conclusion, sugary food should not be bought at a lower costs. Therefore, if the cost is high, people will be discouraged to buy sugary food, and they will find more alternative cheaper and healthier options.