In many countries, more and more men are staying at home to look after their children when women work full-time. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, where men and women get equal career opportunities, they should always be given a choice of whether they want to do a job or not. Therefore, if one partner is working the other has to look after the house chores and the children in his absence, be it a woman or a man. In this essay, I will discuss why in a great many countries more and more men are preferring to stay at home to look after the family while women do full-time jobs. To begin with, husbands usually prefer to stay home if their wives get better job opportunities than them, especially, money-wise. For instance, if a wife is earning enough money to run a house, then the husband doesn’t like to work because their family will be ignored due to both working parents. This in turn will cause mismanagement at home and children’s brought-up will be affected. Hence, one parent needs to be at home to manage the household, and in this,case it will be the husband. If a woman wants to continue her career and doesn’t want to compromise her family along with this, then her husband should support her and agree to manage the house in her absence, however, it is only possible if the husband stays at home. In addition, I believe it is a positive development because the person who is more qualified and experienced for the job will continue her work rather than wasting her opportunities to do something great. Therefore, there will be a greater influx of money and also economical growth. To sum up, to deal with global inflation, if a husband agrees to stay home and let his woman pursue her highly-paid career then it is a better choice for their family. In this way, their children also get due attention and care.