In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Many cities in the world are organized in such a way that they have different districts with distinct functions such as working, shopping or studing. While a lot of urban planners point out advantages of this approach, there are many flaws that ordinary people and businesses have to suffer. In this essay I will discuss what are the benefits of organizing cities into specific areas, but why this policy may hurt city sustainable development in the long run. The main benefit of planning cities into distinct districts is that it is easier for the city authorities to organaize and provide different city functions in that way. For example, when a city has a dedicated offices area, it easier to plan how many offices to build, where to build them and how to organize public transport connection, which makes city development more predictable. Moreover, this approach allows to descrease office spaces in other city areas, providing more land for, for example, households. Obviously, organizing city into specific districts makes urban development more managable. On the other hand, that kind of district specialization leads to the lack of vital urban functions in other city areas. For intance, if a city provides educational services, including all the schools, just in one district, it creates a tremendous inbalance in people`s everyday life, as they can not have their children taught in their home area. This results in them taking their kids long hours to school, than wasting their time on a long commute to the office, as it is in another district. Such area specialization makes it nearly impossible to organize a balanced lifestyle in a city, which might lead people to leave the place. In my opinion, those disadvatanges heavily outweights the possible advantages, especially in the long run. In this essay I argued that arranging urgan Lurgan districts in a heavily specialized way creates disadvantages, such as long commute, that make sustainable life in a city hardly imposible. Therefore, in my opinion flaws of this policy are larger comparing to its benefits.