Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environment? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant exaples from your own experience.

Although international tourism has now become a key industry in many nations worldwide, some people are of the opinion that it is more likely to lead to serious conflicts instead of greater understanding between individuals and different cultures. However, I do not hold the same view. Contrary to the belief of many, traveling overseas develops in people sensitivity to other cultures. By visiting countries abroad, tourists get exposed to the customs and traditions of a particular nation. They meet new people, explore different communities, take part in local festivals, and even learn a foreign language. This cultural immersion fosters in individuals a deeper understanding and appreciation of diversity. Furthermore, global tourism promotes cultural interaction between people. Locals learn by communicating with visitors from outside, who bring with them new ideas and different perspectives. Likewise, this creates opportunities for tourists to introduce their own culture to the local people, and such patterns of interaction enable both parties to overcome their biases, tolerate their differences, and develop mutual understanding. Finally, international tourism plays a major role in building and maintaining peace. Traveling abroad can lead to changes in attitudes among people and serve as a vehicle for compassion and trust, thereby promoting unity and harmony between individuals and nations. In fact, there are many examples of post-conflict societies that have now completely recovered because of their initiative to support sustainable global tourism To conclude, while some individuals argue that international tourism results in greater tension among individuals from different countries, I do not support this view. From my perspective, it instead brings greater understanding among people and nations.