Some people believe famous people’s support towards international aid organizations draws the attention to problems, while other think celebrities make the problems less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are various ways to attract people ’s attention towards international problems, and one of them is inviting famous people to be the representatives. However, people hold conflicting views on this method. On the one hand, many celebrities have numerous fans and followers. Many of those people would check their idols’ updates on a daily basis. Thus, posting pictures and videos of international aid affairs participation on celebrities ’ social media could indeed draw the attention of the general public, of which international aid organizations could take advantage. For example, Louis Koo, one of the most famous actors in China, donated to over 100 elementary schools for children who live in extremely poor conditions in rural China from 2008 to 2021 through Red Cross. Touched by his actions, many people, including his fans, donate their time or money to the international committee of the Red Cross. However, opponents claim that the involvement of celebrities can distract people ’s attention from important issues sometimes. It is true that global aid is a complex matter, with celebrities jumping in it could only make it more complicated. That is why so many scandals of famous people turn charitable business into show businesses these days. Even if they want to do something good and help those needy, the agents and companies behind them would also think of these as opportunities. They would advertise upcoming movies or sell their products in the name of good deeds, which makes people remember everything except charity. Besides that, celebrities cause sometimes lack structure or long-term commitment to make a long-lasting difference. As a result, people ’s attention and passion will also go away real quick. In conclusion, I believe that the social media exposure of celebrities ' participation in international aid matters does create publicity that could help solve those issues. However, proper measures should also be taken to lower the influence and risks of contradictory effects that celebrities ’ involvement brings.