Tourism has emerged as one of the biggest industries of this decade, but its disadvantages cannot be overlooked. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is often argued that tourism has climbed to the top of the industries in this decade, but its downsides cannot be ignored. Although I personally disagree that the disadvantages of tourism cannot be overlooked because for some countries tourism Is their biggest money grabber. For a country like Thailand where tourism is our biggest income, the advantages definitely outweigh the disadvantages so it can be overlooked. If one day, tourists suddenly decided not to come to Thailand anymore the country will suffer a fatal blow financially. Take the Coronavirus pandemic, for example, Thailand's GDP dropped around 5-10% because there are no tourists not only did it affect the GDP but natives and merchants were also affected as well because travellers are their main source of income as soon as they stop coming their income stopped as well. Some even lost their jobs because the business suffer a loss and had to reduce the number. Most of Thailand's major cities are based on tourism as well,especially Phuket and Pattaya. Imagine these two cities without travellers, hotel industries and restaurants will suffer a great loss because the majority of their customers are foreigners and it will cause tons of hotels to go bankrupt which will further affect the whole country's economy and currency. To conclude, I disagree that the disadvantages of tourism cannot be overlooked. For countries where tourism are their biggest earner like Thailand because it creates job opportunities for its citizen and supports the country's economy, It is undeniably better to overlook the disadvantages rather than suffer from financial losses.