Some people claim that there are more disadvandages of car ownership than advantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

The first type of car used by mankind was the non-motorised which was pulled by the horse. Car ownership back then was a luxury and only the wealthy with heavy pockets could afford a private car. In the late 1700s, the industrial revolution in America replaced horse-pulled horse-pulled vehicles with machine-fueled vehicles. Due to improvements in management style and advancements in technology, it was made possible to mass produce the car at a fraction of the cost as compared to its predecessors. Furthermore, fuel costs on the cheaper side made it obvious to switch to motorised transport compared to traditional transport. In the early 1980s entry of Japanese, car makers made car ownership much cheaper. Thus, an influx in high car demand made a drastic demand for fuel causing its price to hike from 20% to 30% in the summer of 1985. Economists do not favour such high demand for car ownership, as America is highly dependent on fuel exports and would not simply suffice on its domestic production. Furthermore, high car demand will increase road traffic, hence government will be needing to construct new transport infrastructure causing it to bleed its federal reserves and issue bonds to deal with such demand. Advantages of car ownership are owner's privacy, under-dependence on slow public transport, better logistics and supply chain of goods & commodities transportation etc. Through ease of owning personal cars, lots of small and local businesses have benefitted as lots of transaction takes place through the transportation of goods and materials in a certain American locality. Furthermore, car ownership among women is on the rise these days due to the privacy which gives along with a sense of pride in being a car owner. Disadvantages of car ownership are pollution caused by burning gas, excessive road traffic, road and pedestrian accidents etc. Unlike Asian countries, where cars are manufactured per gas consumption taken into consideration, in America, the automobile is manufactured as per the power it produces. Although this helps businesses to transport their goods, the greenhouse gas it produces is detrimental to our environment. Furthermore, an average American releases more greenhouse gas when compared to an Asian. The construction of new infrastructures, managing the traffic through the regulatory bodies and deaths due to roadway traffic-related accidents are causing a burden to the nation. Hence it is safe to say that car - ownership disadvantages outweigh its advantages.