Some companies sponsor sport and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Around the world, companies are choosing celebrity endorsements to promote their brand and to stand out from the crowd. Sponsoring a sports team or a sports icon is trending. Some people believe it is advantageous while others believe this is disadvantageous to any individual. In this essay, I will go through both sides and present my opinion. To begin with, TV Commercials have the highest influence on people among all the other ways of advertisements. Popular sports such as football, cricket, and basketball have seen increasing viewership day by day. A particular team has multiple sponsors. Companies sponsor teams to build their brand. These prominent sports personalities are trusted by people and influence people to a great extent. For instance, Byjus, an EdTech company has recently signed Messi a legend in football to promote their product. This will help in the expansion of business in South America. For all these reasons, companies sponsor sports personalities to target the right audiences, promote their brand, build trust and empathy and increase customer loyalty towards their brand. On the other hand, many companies stretch the truth by promoting their brand through endorsements by sports teams and sports stars. Companies such as PepsiCo have signed many prominent sports personalities to promote their product at the global level. The cool drink they promote contains excess sugar which is harmful to an individual’s body. These sports personalities are highly paid to promote the brand and ignore the impact it leads on an individual’s health. To conclude, there are more benefits to advertising a product through sports personalities than a few drawbacks. Companies should promote their brand through sports personalities in the right way. It should set out a clear message without tantalizing the product.