Some people think individuals are more and more dependent on each other. Others believe we are more and more independent. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

We are living in a fast-changing world, and our lives are totally different from the ones a couple of decades ago. Some people believe they are becoming increasingly self-reliant, while others think that we are more dependent on each other than ever before. In my opinion, we are still in need of the accompany of friends and family. On one hand, with the development of technology, people are capable of living alone in big cities. For example, the presence of the Internet and the advancement of transportation methods make e-commerce possible. With a few buttons clicked, items can be delivered to your doorway in a short period. In addition, the main source of information in the past is from other people such as family members and friends, whereas we are able to search for anything we want on our smartphones and computers nowadays. Thus, the reliance on other people is largely reduced. On the other hand, people are more and more in need of each other, as our requirement for sociality remains unchanged. First of all, living alone for too long can cause issues. A prime example can be those who have little to no friends in their lives. Many of these people are suffering from psychological issues caused by a lacking of emotional support. This phenomenon is becoming increasingly common in the modern world. Moreover, a society can’t operate on its own without everyone doing their jobs. Every individual has a role of himself and is linked together like a chain, one broken ring can lead to the collapse of the whole system. In summary, although we are becoming more independent to some extent as a result of advancing technology, it is unable to compensate for our reliance on other people. In the end, we are all dependent on others.