STUDENTS SHOULD BE TAUGHT ACADEMIC KNOWLEDGE SO THAT THEY CAN PASS EXAMS, AND SKILLS SUCH AS COOKING OR DRESSING SHOULD NOT BE TAUGHT. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE/DISAGREE?

It is believed that parents spend hundreds of dollars, if not thousands, on the tuition of their offspring in order to build their professional careers. While some people suggest that skills pertaining to academics should only be taught at educational institutions, others opine that additional skills such as cooking, financial literacy, and dressing should be taught besides the ordinary curriculum. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument, while I support the latter opinion. On the first hand, many individuals, who second the former opinion, say it is paramount because this helps college-going students to progress in their lives. The reason for this is that many with great academic backgrounds are regularly hired by various multinational companies offering coveted salary packages. To illustrate this point, a plethora of students in my country, India, opt for an MBA course in order to boost their future prospects. In contrast, if they did not go for higher studies, they would struggle inevitably to get a raise in their paychecks. On the other hand, I believe that learning other skills is critical as well. It is because of the fact that they help each and every individual to power through strenuous times, turning them into a better version of themselves. For example, learning to invest in the share market can allow individuals to start earning from a brand-new income source, entailing more passive income. On the contrary, if they fail to learn basic skills, such as cooking and dressing to name a few, their personality would take a heavy toll. In conclusion, while academic skills can help a new graduate to get a prestigious job with a multinational company, learning additional expertise can make their life relatively easier. I think students should regularly learn different skills on the side.