Many museums charge admission fees while others are free. Do the advantages of charging people to visit a museum outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, a rising number of museums have reportedly commenced charging for entry even though other museums remain free entry. This essay will suggest that requiring entrance fees presents advantages that far outweigh its downsides. One evident benefit of this move is forming a sense of respect towards history and art subjects among visitors. This is a symbol that the attendees are willing to spend their money upon seeing and learning from historical relics and art collections which, for a substantial number of people, are less intriguing. Furthermore, entrance fees can aid museum authorities financially to further preserve their historical collections and art icons, renovate the venues to have better and more useful amenities for the attendants, as well as reconstruct the damaged relics. To put things into perspective, a paid entry art centre in Jakarta gains an overall high rating on the internet for their effort in presenting excellent quality collections while the majority of free-entry museums cultivate overall low to average rating for their standard collection and limited facilities. On the other hand, imposing admission fees may lead to a decline in the number of visitors. The idea of visiting a museum is arguably uncommon in the modern day, particularly for the younger generation and what has been attracting them to visit is free of admission. For instance, a heritage centre in Kota Tua, Jakarta, was initially free of admission and managed to attract a huge number of the general public at the time, but once they introduced a new regulation of paid entrance, the number of visitors gradually decreased. However, this issue may be taken into resolution if the authorities are able to improve some aspects of the museums. On balance, the fact that implementing admission for charges may embed courtesy within visitors and foster financial assistance to museums or art centres outweighs the consequence of losing visitors as long as they could provide better facilities and collections.