Space travel has been possible for some time and some people believe that space tourism could be developed in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is true that many scientific advancements make it possible for humanity to travel to outer space, so many people assume that space tourism would be improved in the future. Personally, the development of space tourism has both positive and negative impacts. On the one hand, space tourism may be beneficial to some extent. Firstly, this new kind of tourism could help broaden the horizon of visitors’ knowledge about the universe. Since astronomy knowledge is long-known for its extreme difficulty that is too abstract to be conveyed thoroughly on paper, people will find it inconvenient and hard to learn about space if they just read books. Therefore, as long as space tourism becomes widespread, the resident will be provided with opportunities to see the space with their own eyes and have much more intensive insight into the space. Secondly, space tourism could alleviate the problem of workforce abundance. To be more specific, To maintain a stable development for space tourism, more jobs will be created for citizens, spacecraft designers or engineers for example. As a result, the unemployment rate will be reduced remarkably. On the other hand, there are still some negative sides related to space tourism. One main issue is air pollution. Harmful emissions released in the process of exploiting materials, manufacturing the spacecraft and launching it will cause grave consequences for the air. For instance, it is proven that the amount of carbon dioxide that came out from one SpaceX rocket launch is comparable to that from 395 flights through the Atlantic Ocean. As a result, if space tourism becomes more prevalent, air deterioration will occur at an unprecedented speed leading to the death of the earth. Additionally, the unguaranteed safety of the travel might also be one concerning problem. As the condition of outer space is much more extreme than that on earth, along with the possibility of aliens or meteoroids, it is hard to ensure an acceptable degree of safety for all travellers. In conclusion, while better access to universe knowledge and the availability of more work are big advantages of space travel, there are still many negative influences including air pollution and low level of safety. It is predicted that people would travel to outer space for research rather than for entertainment purposes.