Human activities such as deforestation, industrial pollution, and overpopulation continue to damage the natural environment. Discuss the main causes of this environmental disruption and examine its effects on ecosystems and human health.

In the era of economic development, while citizens significantly innovate and develop a number of remarkable achievements regarding social progress, these downsides are becoming more and more evident in various aspects of human life and the natural world. There are various detrimental activities such as the destruction of the ecosystems, the release of industrial emissions, increasing population. In this essay, an attempt will be made to discuss the reasons behind the damaged environment and highlight the consequences affecting ecological habitats and human well-being. The causes of environmental degradation have happened more and more hazardous around the world. Citizens have been clearing the forests to build constructions and expand urban areas, leading to deforestation. Besides, the huge carbon emissions from industrial activities rapidly deteriorate the habitat of ecosystems. Furthermore, the released chemical pollutants damage the rivers and the groundwater system, resulting in severe physical health issues and the amount of acid rain damages a number of plants. For example, the rapid number of forests eliminated over 7,000 hectares from 2016 to 2020 in Vietnam. In addition, the report shows that the cover of degradation had been at approximately 40 per cent in the global areas in 2024. The effects of a damaging environment have generated various crises, both human and biodiversity, so far. Firstly, climate change significantly contributes to rising global temperatures, leading to higher sea levels and occasional extreme weather events. Moreover, the rate of patients has increased due to respiratory illnesses and other chronic conditions. Secondly, there is the huge number of ecological species that disappear in every place yearly because of enormous land grabbing. For example, in the first half of 2025, according to the report, there were roughly 131 billion USD that were damaged by the disaster in the world. In a nutshell, the activities increasing profit margins, such as mining rare metals in the ocean bed and on land, disposing of production processes, etc., cause massive influences on species’ lives. Thereby, those results have been causing ecological imbalance, accelerating climate change, and emerging severe germs.