Write about the following topic. Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The issue of whether pupils should have the freedom to select their courses or to be committed to certain schedules is of great debate. From my perspective, I believe that the second approach is more convenient. However, benefits and drawbacks are expected from both views. To begin with, I stand with the opinion of having a common timetable for all students of the same levels. This is because uniformity will ensure that similar academic materials had been delivered to the young generations equally. Hence, all students will have fair opportunities when they continue to higher education. Moreover, this will reduce the efforts of teachers and institutions as well in terms of assessments and examinations. Another reason for my position is that allowing children to choose their subject will turn into selecting only easier grades. For example, if a pupil has to select between dancing class and math, definitely will select dance over thinking. Therefore, I recommend formal education periods. On the other hand, as the above are pros for formal teaching, there are also some drawbacks which are worse considering. Firstly, a conventional degree can be boring and students might lose interest in studying. Additionally, this can destroy the sense of creativity among youngsters. For instance, subjects such as drawings can be less preferable for many. On the contrary, free classes are based on individual selections. That is why a child can be more motivated to participate in this syllabus. Conversely, the cons of the latter option can result in studying only easier materials that do not challenge the pupils. To conclude, there are several advantages and disadvantages that can appear from conventional or unconventional studying programs. However, I will go for traditional classes to ensure equal teaching among our offspring.