In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In a number of nations, practical courses are being prioritized over graduating from college by many youths. In my opinion, going to college is more advantageous as this path will be more career-focused and exclusive than training which is insufficient to cover the whole subject. To begin with, lessons on campuses are designed with syllabi, which are appropriate to understand the core content. The college courses might be lengthy and expensive but they are reasonable sources of knowledge. For instance, professors in the university plan a specific assignment and give out a fixed period within which students must submit their work. This will encourage the students to immerse themselves in the subject matter theoretically and practically. On the other hand, people who are training can only have practical knowledge while their understanding of theory can be very limited. Although the workers will have outstanding work experience, their academic qualifications will always fall short. As a result, the wages or salary will not be on par with the training they have dedicated their time on, in the long run. To illustrate this, high-school graduates often opt for training rather than going to college. Further in their life, they get burnt out with a minimum wage and no alternate options to turn to. In conclusion, going to college and graduating may take quite a while, which will entice young people to choose training based on work, but it is a fruitful choice that will make a person capable of handling their job more professionally. That extent of professionalism cannot come from just training.