school teachers are more responsible for social and intellectual development of students than parent. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that teachers are more important than parents in students’ academic and social performance when they start to attend school. In my opinion, while I agree that teachers are vital for children ’s both intellectual development and social ability, I believe that students are equally influenced by their parents. There is no doubt that teachers play an important role in providing guidance for children. Firstly, children learn how to interact with peers and obtain new academic theories and skills through classroom activities. Secondly, students tend to spend more time with their tutors and this may lead to a solid connection between them. For example, a student is more likely to consult his or her teacher when a problem needs to be solved. Finally, an increasing number of parents choose to send their children to prestigious institutions because they believe that sophisticated tutors are good role models for their children ’s future development. However, the success of a child is equally related to family members as well. Parents could have a strong influence on their children ’s academic and social skills. For instance, well-educated parents usually care more about the education and social manner of their children. Moreover, students from single-parent families often have discipline problems at school, and this means that a happy family is critical to a child’s social behaviour. Furthermore, schooling is as demanding as a full-time job nowadays, and a host of homework and exam revision needs to be done at home, which requires the cooperation between teachers and parents. In conclusion, I believe that children gain knowledge and social skills at school with the guidance of teachers, and their parents make equal contributions to their development.