Air transport is increasingly used to transport fruit and vegetables to other countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The development of shipment has some dramatic effects on every aspect of life nowadays. As there are several countries that cannot grow fresh produce in some seasons, aeroplanes are often used to transport fruits and vegetables. While this occurrence could bring convenience to many countries, there might be possible drawbacks which will further be discussed in this essay. Produce is a commodity of which not many lands have the privilege. To tackle this issue, more nations export their commodities to places in need. This would cause a development in the economy of the exporting region. It will help the nation to gain revenue and possibly promote their country by advertising their goods with their origin's names. Other than that, the use of aeroplanes as a mode of shipping is convenient as they can reach places in a small amount of time, ensuring the freshness of the produce. For instance, exporting fresh fruits to other regions using boats would take approximately 3 to 5 days while aeroplanes would only take a day to the destination. This shows the convenience of using air transportation. However, this development also has its drawbacks, mainly in the form of budget. Using an aeroplane costs a lot more money than other modes of transportation. As an example, an aircraft is very strict about the weight of a package because of the weight limit, which would cost us more money to spend when the package goes past the weight limit. To summarize, the use of aircraft to transport fresh goods would be handy and the quality of the products will remain the same as it was. Nevertheless, there are still drawbacks that need to be taken into consideration.