In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

With myriad developments in technology, the lifetime of each individual become longer. Whilst some people opine that elderly people may cause problems for governments, others indicate that there are also advantages. This essay will explore in which way the advantages outnumber the drawbacks. First of all, the elderly generation has a lot of bad or good experiences in this life. With these experiences, they can advise the young generation and cast the light through their future. Moreover, being knowledgeable contributes to the mechanism called wise-desicioning which means helping to cope with the situations that you need to decide in a good way. For instance, history is an essential subject in order to understand the evolution of life that’s why nearly every stage of education has history lectures. What we learned from history is a key to construct our future. With the elderly generation ’s experiences, we can create our future more wisely. Secondly, governments need to create new workforce spaces in order to balance the economy. Because of the extraordinary numbers of aged people create economic imbalance, governments pay more than they earn. Thus, they need to invest in creating more job opportunities which may lead to greater good for the unemployed young generation. Additionally, the economic force of the country can be improved. In conclusion, while some people believe having a large number of elderly people in the population creates some problems for local authorities, others think there are also advantages. In my opinion, elderly people help the younger generation to decide more wisely and also force governments to create more job opportunities in order to balance the economy which, I believe, outweighs any potential drawbacks.