Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Tertiary education plays a pivotal role in shaping the future of a nation. Many have argued that students, while opting for their major, shall prioritise the financial prospect of their career development. I utterly disagree with their point of view and think that decisions should be made based on individuals’ passion. University, although being an academic institution with relatively fewer restrictions compared to primary and secondary schools, is hard to strive through if the chosen major is not of one’s interest. Tertiary studies comprise various challenges which are far more complex than just scoring splendidly in examinations. Students have to excel in viva presentations, clerkships, internships, team coursework and research thesis within 3 to 4 academic years, all of which require focused attention and in-depth knowledge of each field. Failures can happen along the way. If one does not have the passion to keep his or her faith in the pursued course, chances are the individual might give up easily. At the end of the day, this kind of student will lose their self-confidence and have lower self-esteem, not to mention the waste of time and money that had been invested. On the other hand, predicting the prospects of every career is hardly possible. The ever-changing world is different from day to day due to the events that happen to it. The occupations that seemed prestigious in the past may experience downfalls and provide a bleak prospect. The Covid-19 pandemic is a quintessential black-swan event that has turned the world upside-down. Many including pilots, which are known as one of the high-paying careers had lost their job, whereas the field of information technology and computer science has emerged as the top earning industry. If we were to take prosperity as the main consideration, without including other aspects such as personal interest and financial ability, there will be a great possibility that we will regret our choices. In conclusion, studying at university is everyone’s stepping stone to the working realm. Students should be more cautious and look less at the financial prospects of their career while selecting a major because, the decision can substantially affect their upcoming livelihood.