Some people think the primary purpose of schools is to turn the children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Good quality education is a key to one’s success in the various facets of life. Also, schools play a vital role in imparting the required knowledge to benefit an individual in this world. It is agreed that educational institutions can leverage a person to attain his or her potential, rather than merely turning them to be efficient workers or obedient citizens. In this essay, I shall explore the opinion as to why schools should bring out better individuals than average joes. Firstly, schools are places where students benefit each other. For example, studies clearly show that kids learn about various aspects such as patience, teamwork, collaboration etc through their peers and stimulating learning environments. This will undoubtedly help children during their growing phase and later in life. Therefore, many schools aim to place great emphasis on these values for their young learners. Secondly, children learn life -long skills that set a foundation for their life. In other words, interpersonal skills are important as any other job-oriented skills since more and more employers look for people with a broader skillset and an adaptive mindset. Alternatively, adults with deeper understanding and knowledge always find it easier to live life with rules and clarity. To sum it up, educational institutions have a greater role in creating socially aware citizens and a strong community than chewing out mere minds. Schools should take advantage of this responsibility to bring a world full of individuals who believe in themselves and make it a better place to live.