In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

The rising number of couples who tend to have no babies in their lives and a rising life expectancy are leading to the ageing population. The disadvantages of this tendency include a lack of labour force and a burden to society. As far as I am concerned, this transformation negatively affects our society. In this essay, I am going to discuss my viewpoints on it. To begin with, nowadays, fewer newborns result in the growth of the percentage of elderly people in many countries. According to WHO, people aged 60 years old and over will make up nearly one-fourth of the world’s population in 2050. Many developed countries are facing challenges resulting from the phenomenon such as a lack of workers to support economic development. Take Japan as an example, with the demographic change, the elderly people comprise nearly 30% of the total population. That impacts electric and motor vehicle industries. Due to the lack of labour force, the production may decline. Subsequently, Japan may lose its advantages and spot as the third -largest economy in the world. Moreover, an increasing need for medical care is another issue contributed by the ageing population in a country. Because the government has to provide a large number of subsidies to take care of ageing people, the budget for supporting other aspects such as economic development needs to be decreased. For example, in Taiwan, the fee of social insurance is rising caused by more and more elderly people making an unaffordable burden to the system. In conclusion, this change in demographic structure is leading to a lot of challenges like a shortage of manpower and the compelling need for social services in many countries. Therefore, it is necessary for people to find a solution to this negative development.