Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there has been much discussion and research on whether online setting is a good way to go about business matters, i. e., meetings, discussions and training. Some people tend to believe that meetings online help boost productivity, while others think that they demotivate employees. To begin with, internet-based meetings are highly time efficient. Attendees can join the discussion from places they are most comfortable in, and they do not need to spend time commuting to an office. That way the time saved can be spent on other duties, and it helps reduce non voluntary overtime. It leads to a better atmosphere among the employees, as they feel more flexible and happier in the workplace. On the other hand, it is more difficult to keep focused on the discussed matter while sitting in front of a computer. According to scientists, countless people find it difficult not to do other things while in a meeting online (for example, not to scroll in social media, read a newspaper or even cook). This kind of behavior can lead a person to be uninterested and uninformed of what is happening at work, meaning the efficiency, quality of work and motivation reduces. In conclusion, the underlying benefit of distant work is the time efficiency, which helps the workplace to appear more flexible. However, the distractions while communicating from another place can drop the quality of work. I am personally fond of the opinion that telecommunication has got more pros than cons, as it lets a person feel more free and more responsible.