These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, human interaction has significantly changed with the advent of cellular phones and networking. One can opine that this change has more pros than cons and the reasons are highlighted below. To begin with, one of the advantages of using modern communication techniques is that they are always less time-consuming to convey the message. Phone calls can be in real-time, while electronic mail or messages can be sent instantaneously. For example, a phone call from America can reach Japan almost instantly. Thus, this development has improved the way we interact. In addition, the competition between service providers has resulted in curbing the cost of communication which has permitted more wider circle of relationships between communities. The best example of this is social media groups, where the location of each participant is scattered around the globe. So, our interactions have enhanced the culture through the sharing of values around the world. In such a way, these technologies are advantageous to the people. On the other hand, this has some demerits too. A man, who overindulges in communication through the phone or the internet, can develop mental health problems. There are many scientific papers which say the same. One such article has mentioned about suicidal tendencies and depression among cyber-addicted youths. Although this is an obvious disadvantage, the advantages are more to support their usage. To conclude, there are far more benefits than drawbacks to using mobile phones and the Internet for communication. The disadvantages can be curtailed by adopting preventive measures.